Va cbc lm 405 front

Drake, Jodie (Priscilla Royster) - CBC Comp 405 comp

Format: LP comp
Label: CBC Radio Canada LM 405
Year: 1974
Origin: Detroit, Michigan, USA - Toronto, Ontario
Genre: soul, funk
Value of Original Title: 
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Compilation Tracks


Track Name
Everybody's Cryin' Mercy
Till My Back Ain't Got No Bone
Nobody But You
Ain't Gonna Live That Way No More


Va cbc lm 405 front

CBC Comp 405 comp


No Video


If you're looking for a jazz ballad, don't bother to listen to these four cuts by Jodie Drake.

This is a first for Jodie on disc and we are pleased to be able to say that it is the CBC who gave her this chance to record something other than jazz ballads.

It's Jodie at her delightful best - singing four soulful songs. Two are new: "Nobody But You", a soft swinging love song, and "Ain't Gonna Live That Way No More", an up-tempo funky song. They were both written by John Capek, an extremely talented composer from Australia. The background vocals were supplied by Cathy Young and Bev D'Angelo, a young lady about whom you'll be hearing more in the near future. These are solid songs - they should fit beautifully into any style of program.

Jodie Drake: vocals
John Capek: keyboards
Brian Russell: guitars
Kevan Staples: guitars
Barry Keane: drums
Steve Hogg: bass

Arrangements by John Capek
Produced in Toronto by Ann Hunter
Engineered by Keith Duncan


No Comments