Thumb vinyl

Jackson Hawke

Origin: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Jackson Hawke was a Canadian pop rock band, principally active during 1976-1978 and most notable for its song "You Can't Dance", which became an international hit for England Dan and John Ford Coley.

Jackson Hawke was co-founded in 1974 by Tim Ryan and Bob Yeomans. The two had originally begun working together as professional musicians in 1963 and had earlier been managed by noted Canadian manager, promoter and record producer Bernie Finkelstein. Ryan and Yeomans, originally from Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, had been in an early Canadian garage band, The Amen.

In addition to Ryan on lead vocals and guitar and Yeomans on guitar, the original lineup of Jackson Hawke was completed by Gene Falbo on bass and Chris Castle on drums. A later guitarist was Garry Holt. Later drummers were Bob Clarke (previously with Ryan and Yeomans in The Amen) and Bucky Berger. Jackson Hawke was particularly prominent in Canada during the 1976-1978 period, releasing three singles and two albums on CBS Records. They were at one time associated with well known Canadian publicist and entertainment manager Gino Empry.

Their first single, released in 1976, was a double-sided hit, featuring the original "You Can't Dance" and a version of Van Morrison's "Into The Mystic". "You Can't Dance" later became an international hit when released in 1978 by England Dan and John Ford Coley



No Photos


No Video