Steel River - A Better Road (re-issue)

Format: CD
Label: Axe Records A534
Year: 2013
Origin: Toronto, Ontario
Genre: rock, pop
Value of Original Title: $15.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email ryder@robertwilliston.com
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  http://axerecords.ca/
Playlist: 1970's, Ontario, Canadian Rock, Canadian Psychedelia


Track Name
Mexican Lady
Do You Know Where You're Going?
Take It Slowly
What You Are
They've Been Waiting
Southbound Train
Don't Tell Me
No One Will Hear You
Take You Away
Joyful Judy
Love Can't Be Made of Gold - Let's Think Ahead



A Better Road (re-issue)


No Video


Producer and engineer Greg Hambleton signed STEEL RIVER in 1970 and recorded their first single "Ten Pound Note" (J. Telfer) at Toronto's Sound Canada Recording Studios. It was the perfect song to record for Steel River (originally named 'Toronto Shotgun'), an R&B oriented band managed by a Toronto school teacher Bob Beames. Greg played the tapes for George Struth at Quality Records, a major record manufacturer and distributor in Canada at the time, who immediately released the single on Greg's newly formed Tuesday Records label (GH 101). It became an instant smash and Quality and Stereo Dimension's Evolution label in the States quickly followed its release in 1970 with Steel River's first album 'Weighin' Heavy'.

When the William Morris Agency signed STEEL RIVER, they became an international touring success and performed on three major American tours with The James Gang, Melanie, Steppenwolf, Black Sabbath, Three Dog Night, Edgar Winters, etc. Band members Bob Forrester (keyboards), Rob Cockell (bass), Tony Dunning (lead Guitar) Ray Angrove (drums) and with lead singer John Dudgeon wrote most of the material on their first and second album 'A Better Road' including "Southbound Train" and "Mexican Lady". Licensed by Polygram for release outside North America, all three singles charted in Canada and the States.

Tony Dunning: lead guitar and acoustic guitar
John Dudgeon: lead vocals and acoustic guitar
Rob Cockell: fender bass
Ray Angrove: drums
Robert Forrester: keyboards

Produced by Greg Hambleton
Engineered by Terry Brown at Toronto Sound Studios
Mix Engineering by Bob Liftin at Regent Sound
Colour photography: Murray Wilson
Inside photography: Graham Purvis
CD Design: Backyard Design
All songs published by Belsize Park Music
Special thanks to Kalua Music and our ol' buddy Glen McLaren


No Comments