Rapid tears honestly %28fantasy cover%29 front


Rapid Tears - Honestly (fantasy cover artwork version)

Format: LP
Label: Chameleon Records CR 575
Year: 1982
Origin: Toronto, Ontario
Genre: metal
Value of Original Title: $250.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email ryder@robertwilliston.com
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Ontario, Metal on Metal, 1980's, Metal


Side 1

Track Name
Actress of Passion
Operation Airlift

Side 2

Track Name
Down on You
Here to Heaven
Keep Runnin'



Rapid Tears - Honestly (fantasy cover artwork version)


Rapid Tears / Honestly (fantasy cover artwork version)


Rapid Tears / Honestly (fantasy cover artwork version)

Rapid tears honestly %28fantasy cover%29 front

Honestly (fantasy cover artwork version)


No Video


Rapid Tears were 'Canada's Heavy Assault', a five man heavy metal band who formed in 1977 in Toronto, Ontario. They released their first album, 'Honestly' wih two different covers, on Chameleon Records CR-575. That album created an overwhelming wave on the European front. The band was Brian Frank on vocals; Mike Miller (Castle of Pain) on guitars, vocals; Clayton Bonin on guitars, vocals, synthesizers on 'Variations'; Jon Wein on bass; Rick Nemes (Infernal Majesty, Lethal Presence, Castle of Pain) on drums.

The album was produced by Tom Atom and Rapid Tears. Executive producer was Ken Doidge. Engineered by Tom Atom. All songs recorded and mixed at Cottingham Sound, Toronto, Ontario, except 'Operation Airlift' and 'Tomorrow', which were recorded at Sounds Interchange in 1980. All tracks mixed at Sound Kitchen in 1982. Cover concept by Raw Ear Productions. Cover design and illustration by Verne. Back design by Cindy Putman. Photography: Benjamin.

The tracks are: Survival/ Headbang/ Eliminator/ Actress of Passion/ Variations/ Operation Airlift // Wonderland/ Down on You/ Tomorrow/ Here to Heaven/ Keep Runnin'.

The fantasy cover artwork (by Verne Andru) sells for $200, whereas the other cover can often be found for about half that.

Rapid Tears followed up two years later, in 1984 with the four track EP 'Cry for Mercy' on Chameleon Records CR 737. The band disbanded shortly thereafter.

Chameleon Records was a small independant label that was operated by Carlene Osborne, at 28b Howden Rd, in Toronto, Ontario. They were a self-contained organization dedicated to exposing and promoting Canadian talent. Besides the 2 Rapid Tears releases, they also released Honey Novick and Chris Henderson on WRC1-930; Honey Novick and Friends-Fortune Baby on CR-777; Music for Subways: Toronto's subway musicians in the studio on OM-233; The Circuit-ST LP on CR-555; Neon 7" on CR0757; Instructions 7" on CR-355; Cold War 7" on CR-532; and No Pedestrians comp LP on CR-535; Pale Blue 7" on CR 001.

Both albums wre re-issued on on CD in 2006 privately on Rapidt 001.
-Robert Williston


No Comments