R 8090981 1454958945 3268.jpeg


Zoom - Sweet Desperation

Format: LP
Label: Ugly Pop Records UP 061
Year: 2016
Origin: Toronto, Ontario
Genre: punk
Value of Original Title: $15.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email ryder@robertwilliston.com
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  https://uglypop.bandcamp.com/
Playlist: Ontario, 1970's, Punk Room, Ugly Pop Records


Side 1

Track Name
Subway Surfin'
Massacre At Central High
Schoolgirl Hitchhiker
They Only Come Out At Night
I Hate You
Hollywood Babylon

Side 2

Track Name
Sweet Desperation
Young And Alive
Vampire Heat
My Baby's Got No Brains
Slow Down
Where Have All The Good Times Gone?


R 8090981 1454958945 3268.jpeg

Sweet Desperation


No Video


Bored of cover bands and Toronto's stagnant bar scene, Chris Haight and John Hamilton formed ZOOM in 1976, inspired by such pre-punk touchstones as the Velvet Underground, Roxy Music, Bowie and Sparks. The band quickly set to gigging locally, but were soon caught up in the punk scene that exploded to life around them. An obscure but seminal 1976 45 -- arguably Toronto's first punk record-- was their sole release before the band dissolved as Haight joined the Viletones and Hamilton began drumming for the Diodes.

Despite their duties in two of Canada's leading punk bands, however, the pair didn't want great songs like "Schoolgirl Hitch Hiker", "My Baby's Got No Brains" and "They Only Come Out At Night" to go undocumented, so they entered the studio to get this stuff on tape. Produced by Bob Segarini and BB Gabor, and with musical contributions from members of The Ugly, The B-Girls and The Curse, the session captured a pretty special time in Toronto music history. It seems especially poignant that it would then remain unheard for decades.

In 2014, Hamilton, who had gone on to an illustrious career of his own but had never entirely forgotten Zoom, located the tapes and had them professionally baked and restored. A trove of photographs, flyers and graphics was similarly uncovered, and now Ugly Pop is very pleased to announce a 13-track LP due for release in early 2016. Superb pressing with full insert featuring extensive new liner notes and unseen pictures, and this one won't be staying in print.

Before they became members of the Viletones and the Diodes respectively, Chris Haight and John Hamilton were members of the early Toronto punk band ZOOM. Formed in 1976 and disbanding shortly thereafter, the group's sole release was a rare single. Now, however, their unreleased material is coming to fruition.

The compilation is called Sweet Desperation, and it's set to arrive via reputable Canadian punk imprint Ugly Pop Records, who have pieced together a 13-track LP using ZOOM's previously unreleased material.

The tracks were recorded by Bob Segarini and BB Gabor. In addition to Haight and Hamilton, they include musical contributions from members of the Ugly, the B-Girls and the Curse.
-Josiah Hughes, Mar 14, 2016

Produced by Bob Segarini
Executive Producer; Simon Harvey


No Comments