Francey, David - The Broken Heart of Everything

Format: CD
Year: 2018
Origin: Ayrshire, Scotland - Toronto, Ontario
Genre: folk
Value of Original Title: $20.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Playlist: 2010's, Canadian Folk, Ontario



Track Name
Poorer Then
Night and Morning
The flower of Colonsay
Lonely Road
I know It Won't
Blue Sorrow And Then Some
Come Sunday
Where Harry Sat
Only Love
Walking In Jerusalem
Moon Over Melbourne



The Broken Heart of Everything


No Video


"The Broken Heart of Everything" marks the 12th collection of timeless and beautifully crafted songs from David Francey. On this record, the 3 time Juno award-winning songsmith touches on the introspection that comes with travelling, the memories that have shaped him and the love that binds us all. Francey, along with his long-time collaborators Mark Westerberg, Chris Coole and Darren McMullen, have created a lush, nostalgic sounding backdrop, allowing David's striking and sincere lyrics to weave captivating stories that you and your loved ones will want will return to again and again.

In the late '90s, David Francey emerged as a celebrated folksinger and storyteller across Canada. Born in 1954 in Ayrshire, Scotland, Francey's life was surrounded by the respect of the working class and the solace of traditional Scottish songs. By age 12, he and his family moved to Toronto. On the weekends, they would drive through southern Ontario to explore the countryside while singing. His love for traveling as a young man also influenced his musical enjoyment. In 1999, Francey issued his debut, Torn Screen Door, on his own label, Laker Music. He was hailed as passionate and authentic and fellow folk musician James Keelaghan exclaimed "David Francey is the best Canadian folk writer that I have heard in 20 years."

Two years later, Francey released his second album, Far End of Summer, which earned him his first Juno Award for Best Roots & Traditional Album. That honor was once again awarded to his follow-up, 2003's Skating Rink. A collaboration with traditional country artists Kieran Kane, Kevin Welch, and Fats Kaplin yielded 2004's The Waking Hour, which featured some of Francey's darker and more politically motivated material including the song "Wishing Well," about the execution of Timothy McVeigh. After delivering both his first live album and Christmas collection in 2006, he returned a year later with the introspective Right of Passage, which earned him yet another Juno Award. Working with Moxy Früvous member Mike Ford, Francey collaborated on 2009's Seaway, an album that documented their voyage on the Great Lakes freighter the MV Algoville.

In addition to recording his own songs, Francey has been covered by artists like the Del McCoury Band and the Rankin Family. He has also taken part in a number of respected songwriting contests and has won both the USA Songwriting Competition and the John Lennon Songwriting Contest. For 2011's Late Edition album, he traveled to Nashville and worked once again with his friends Kieran Kane and Fats Kaplin. His friendship with Kane resulted in a new collaborative project called Go Jane Go, which also featured Kieran's son Lucas. Following a tour of Australia, the trio released its debut in 2013, followed shortly after by Francey's tenth solo album, So Say We All. After a three-year gap, he returned in 2016 with Empty Train. ~ Timothy Monger & MacKenzie Wilson

Credits and photos from the recording of Empty Train
The Handsome Soldiers
Mark Westberg: Guitar, Vocals
Chris Coole: Banjo, Guitar, Vocals
Darren McMullen: Mandolin, Tenor Banjo, Bouzouki, Baritone Guitar, Bass, Vocals

The Brave Volunteers
James McKie: Fiddle
John Showman: Fiddle
Ivan Rosenberg: Lap Steel

Photography: David Francey
Front and Rear Covers: David Francey
Produced by: Mark Westberg, Chris Coole, Darren McMullen, David Francey
Arrangements: Westberg, Coole, McMullen, Francey
Recorded and Engineered by: Mark Westberg
All tracks recorded at the Coole Family Cottage
except tracks by John Showman, James McKie and Ivan Rosenberg
Mastered by David Travers-Smith
Art design and layout: Bill Cassidy, (
Copy editing: Kate Murphy
Management: Mark Watson, (
Booking: Ryan Heerschap, (
All songs written by David Francey except tracks 10 traditional
C&P 2018 Laker Music (SOCAN)


No Comments