Peace - My Face

Format: LP
Label: Pop Echo Records
Year: 2011
Origin: Vancouver, British Columbia
Genre: rock, post punk
Value of Original Title: $20.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email ryder@robertwilliston.com
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Rock Room, 2010's, British Columbia


Side 1

Track Name
The Uma Uma Truth List
Quite Frankly
Grey Walls
The Dark

Side 2

Track Name
The Aurora Hotel
Double Deuce
Gonna Die
Common Trash



My Face


No Video


Just how many killer guitar licks will fit on a 42-minute LP? Peace answers this question on My Face by packing 11 postpunk bangers with hypnotically interwoven guitar leads and fleet-fingered bass lines. Riffs are piled on top of riffs, making this an exhausting but rewarding listen.

The album gets off to a pulse-boosting start with the curiously titled “The Uma Uma Truth List”, which uses thundering tom drums to anchor its repetitive groove and densely spiralling guitar melodies. The rest of the album is similarly relentless in its six-stringed assault. “Quite Frankly” bristles with jagged-glass guitars, while the thrilling closer “Common Trash” culminates in an outro of finger-tapping fretboard heroics. Even when the band eases off for the folk-noir slow burn of “Midnight”, the break doesn’t last long, and the song explodes halfway through with pounding rhythms and a fractured, noodling solo.

With so much excitement coming from the amps, frontman Dan Geddes rarely offers much in the way of memorable vocal hooks. He delivers most of his lyrics in a half-spoken drawl, and this slacker approach evokes the swagger of Pavement-era Stephen Malkmus. In the rare moments when Geddes sings an actual melody, his voice is a lovely, Ian Curtis–style baritone croon that will serve him well should the band ever decide to switch to a more pop-friendly style. Still, as long as the fretboard workouts are as mind-melting as this, nobody’s likely to notice the lack of hummable tunes.
-Alex Hudson

Peace is:
Lt. Frank Dickens: guitar, vocals
Michael Willock: guitar
Connor Mayer: bass
Geoff Dembicki: drums
released 22 March 2011
My Face was recorded in May of 2010 at The Noise Floor by Jordan Koop and mastered at The Hive by Stuart Mckillop.
Released by Pop Echo Records.


No Comments