lang, k.d. - Sing It Loud

Format: CD
Label: Nonesuch Records
Year: 2011
Origin: Consort, Alberta
Genre: folk, country
Value of Original Title: 
Make Inquiry/purchase: email ryder@robertwilliston.com
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Alberta, Country & Western, 2010's


Track Name
I Confess
A Sleep with No Dreaming
The Water's Edge
Perfect Word
Sugar Buzz
Sing It Loud
Habit of Mind
Sorrow Nevermore



Sing It Loud


No Video


Nonesuch Records releases k.d. lang and the Siss Boom Bang's Sing it Loud on April 12, 2011. Produced by lang and Joe Pisapia, it is the award-winning singer-songwriter's first record made entirely with a band of her own since the pair of albums with the Reclines that launched her groundbreaking career over 20 years ago.

This collection of songs reflects the organic, collaborative nature of the sessions, which took place at Pisapia's Middletree Studios in Nashville. Many of the songs were recorded live in the studio and that energy is palpable. The lead single "I Confess" is one of three songs lang penned with keyboardist Daniel Clarke and Joshua Grange, who plays baritone guitar and dobro. In addition to the original material, Sing it Loud includes a striking version of Talking Heads' "Heaven." Pisapia, who plays numerous instruments and serves as the band's musical director, contributed the title track and co-wrote five songs with lang. Bassist Lex Price (Mindy Smith, Peter Bradley Adams) and drummer/percussionist Fred Eltringham (The Wallflowers) complete the lineup.

Sing it Loud is lang's first studio album since 2008's Watershed, which debuted in the Top 10 of the Billboard 200. In 2010, she marked the 25th anniversary of her recording debut with Recollection, a career retrospective.

k.d. lang, vocals (1-10), background vocals (1, 3, 6-10), tenor guitar (10)
Joe Pisapia, acoustic guitar (1-8), electric guitar (1-4, 6, 9, 10), background vocals (1, 3, 4, 6-10), pedal steel (2, 4, 5), vocals (2), ukulele (3), mellotron (3, 6), keyboards (4, 5), banjo (6-8, 10), keyboards (10), mandolin (10)
Joshua Grange, baritone guitar (1-3), Dobro (1), background vocals (1, 3, 6-8, 10), banjo (6), pedal steel (6-8), guitar (8), slide guitar (9, 10), electric guitar (10)
Daniel Clarke, piano (1, 3, 6, 7), organ (1, 2, 6, 8), background vocals (1, 3, 6-8, 10), glockenspiel (2), Fender Rhodes (8, 9), acoustic guitar (9), bass (10)
Lex Price, bass (1-9), banjo (10)
Fred Eltringham, drums, percussion (1-3, 6-10)
Marc Pisapia, drums, percussion (4)
Tony Crow, piano (5)
Paul Griffith, drums, percussion (5)

Produced by k.d. lang and Joe Pisapia
Recorded by Joe Pisapia and Adam Landry at Middletree Studios, Nashville, TN
Assisted by Mark Primeau
Mixed by k.d. lang and Joe Pisapia at Middletree Studios, Nashville, TN
Assisted by Luke Skidmore
Additional Recording by Lynne Earls (2)
Mastered by Stephen Marcussen at Marcussen Mastering, Los Angeles, CA
Album Coordination: Ngoc Hoang
Production Managed and Contracted by Jill Dell’Abate

Tracks 1, 8, 10 written by k.d. lang, Daniel Clarke, Joshua Grange; track 2-5, 7 by k.d. lang and Joe Pisapia; track 6 by Joe Pisapia; track 9 by David Byrne and Jerry Harrison

Art Direction by by Jeri Heiden for SMOG Design, Inc.
Design by Glen Nakasako for SMOG Design, Inc.
Photography by James Minchin III


No Comments