Unintended  st


Unintended - ST

Format: CD
Label: Blue Fog VOID002-2
Year: 2003
Origin: Ontario
Genre: rock, psych
Value of Original Title: $15.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email ryder@robertwilliston.com
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  https://bluefogrecordings.bigcartel.com/product/the-unintended-vinyl-lp, https://rickwhitearchive.bandcamp.com/album/the-unintended-2003-deluxe-version
Playlist: Ontario, Rock Room, 2000's


Track Name
The Collapse
Stay Calm
The Light
Bells of War
A Quiet Getaway
Controller Aware
The Truth
No Curse of Time
So Long Goodbye
Beautiful Things


Unintended  st



No Video


The Unintended is a Canadian indie supergroup, consisting of Dallas Good, Travis Good, Sean Dean and Mike Belitsky of The Sadies, Greg Keelor of Blue Rodeo and Rick White of Eric's Trip and Elevator. The band released a self-titled album in 2004. In 2006, they released four Gordon Lightfoot covers on the split album Constantines Play Young/Unintended Play Lightfoot.

ELEVATOR's "Darkness-Light", made in 2002, was a concept type album in two halves. First the heavy scary dark aftermath of Elevator's last few years on side one, then rising into a positive light jazzy folk rock type sound on side two. Dallas Good really helped bring together that side especially and once finished, we thought we'd explore that sound a little deeper and turn it into another project of its own.

We soon started demoing songs and working out ideas and by early 2003 plans were made to record an album. The two of us became a band with the rest of the Sadies on board, as well as our good friend Greg Keelor. He offered us time at his sweet home studio to record the album, and once out there, the beautiful location lent itself nicely to the shaping of what we were to create.

Out in the Ontario countryside, and during a snowstorm most of the time, we laid 12 songs down over six days with a woodstove burning and lots of hash. On the last day we did a good final mix of the whole thing and released an 11 song album on Blue Fog Recordings later that year. We only did a CD release at the time, but i always wished we did a vinyl version as well because it's an album that i'm especially proud of.

This brings us to 2019 where we've finally got this beloved recording remastered and pressed to vinyl! You can order your very own copy from the BlueFogRecordings online store at the Big cartel website.

The vinyl has one bonus track included "Another love song" as well as a download code for this whole bandcamp collection so don't buy the digital version here if you plan to get the vinyl.

RICK WHITE - Lead vocal, guitars and percussion.
DALLAS GOOD - Guitars, vocals, organ, harmonica and omnichord.
TRAVIS GOOD - Guitars, vocals, lead vocal on "Redwood Hills".
GREG KEELOR - Guitars, vocals, lead vocal on "Message to Pretty(live)" and 2nd drums on "The Collapse(live)".

Recorded at the home studio of Greg over six days in March 2003. Engineered by Ian Osborn to one inch 8 track tape.
Produced, arranged, mixed and photographed by Rick and Dallas.
All songs and lyrics (except 14-17 and 19), artwork layout and 2019 remaster by Rick.
Much thanks to Greg, Kate Boothman and Brian Taylor.

*Bonus Tracks.

ANOTHER LOVE SONG and WHY BE SO CURIOUS are 4track demos recorded in 2003 by Rick and Dallas at our Queen st. apartment. We demoed most of the album tracks like this but these two were never redone with the band. Sadies later recorded "Why be so curious" for their Favourite Colours album in 2004.

ROSANNA, REDWOOD HILLS, THE WAY I FEEL and WALLS are all Gordon Lightfoot songs that we recorded in 2005 for a split vinyl 12" with the Constantines. Engineered by Don Pyle. Different mix from original release and 2019 remaster by Rick.

ALL PASSED AWAY(live), MESSAGE TO PRETTY(live) and THE COLLAPSE(live) were recorded at the Horseshoe Tavern in Toronto, July 2004 by Steve Neely. "All Passed Away" was a new song we started playing live during our first batch of shows, never studio recorded. "Message to Pretty" is a cover of a nice song from the first LOVE album, written by Arthur Lee.

ALL THE WAY BACK HOME is the unused song from the original album session. Only this rough mix remains as we never did a good final mix like the others.

Thanks for listening, hope you enjoy it.
released September 23, 2019


No Comments