Prism   prism   front


Prism - ST

Format: LP
Label: GRT 9230 1068
Year: 1977
Origin: Vancouver, British Columbia
Genre: rock, pop
Value of Original Title: $20.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: MOCM Top 1000 Canadian Singles, 1970's, Rock Room, British Columbia, MOCM Top 1000 Canadian Albums


Side 1

Track Name
Spaceship Superstar
Open Soul Surgery
It's Over
Take Me to the Kaptin

Side 2

Track Name
I Ain't Lookin' Anymore


Prism   prism   back

Prism - ST

Prism   prism   front



No Video


Prism is the self-titled debut album by Canadian rock band Prism, released in May 1977 on the Canadian record label GRT. It was produced primarily by Bruce Fairbairn, and the majority of songs were written by Jim Vallance (who also served as co-producer on two tracks). It achieved platinum status in Canada (in excess of 100,000 units sold). Prism peaked at #137 on the Billboard 200 in November 1977.

"Spaceship Superstar" became the band's signature song and a staple of Canadian rock radio. Record producer Bruce Fairbairn and songwriter Jim Vallance both went on to achieve huge international success.

The song "Open Soul Surgery" was covered by April Wine in their 1986 album Walking Through Fire, as well as Ian Lloyd's 1979 album “Goose Bumps”. The song "Take Me to the Kaptin" was covered by Parallel 49 and released as a single in June 2020.

Ron Tabak: lead vocals
Lindsay Mitchell: lead guitar, vocals
Tom Lavin: rhythm guitar, vocals
Bruce Fairbairn: horns
Tom Keenlyside: horns
John Hall: keyboards, vocals
Ab Bryant: bass
Rodney Higgs: drums, keyboards

Produced by Bruce Fairbairn and Rodney Higgs
Engineered by Rolf Henneman
Engineer assistant: Jeff Tolman
Executive-producer: Jeff Burns
Arranged by Bruce Fairbairn and Rodney Higgs
Art Direction and photography by James O'Mara


No Comments