Octavian - Simple Kinda People

Format: LP
Label: MCA 2168
Year: 1975
Origin: Ottawa, Ontario
Genre: rock, pop
Value of Original Title: 
Make Inquiry/purchase: email ryder@robertwilliston.com
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: 1970's, Ontario, Canadian Pop


Side 1

Track Name
Hold Me Touch Me
Sun In Your Eyes
Round And Round
In Trouble Again
Work It Out Together

Side 2

Track Name
Good Feeling (To Know)
Desperate Man
Good Times
Tell Me Why
Johnny Lightning
Simple Kinda People



Octavian - Simple Kinda People


Simple Kinda People


No Video


Ottawa's unweildy 7-piece band, Octavian, was formed as Octavius during the members' formative years in high school of 1969. Their first professional gig was at the Chaudiere Club in Aylmer, Québec for members of Satan's Choice. The band's name achieved a metamorphosis during a gig at The Rock Club in Woodstock, Ontario when their name appeared as 'Octavian' on the marquee. Six years of touring and beating a path around the Canadian east coast finally landed them a deal with MCA Records in Toronto.

Their 1974 debut single, "Good Feeling (To Know)" made the Top 10 in many major markets in Canada (Ottawa, Vancouver, Winnipeg), was #8 in the Steed Report's Top 100 for the year and received a "Pick Of The Week" in Billboard in the US, but failed to climb the Billboard chart. 1975 saw the release of their only album, 'Simple Kinda People', and launched another single "Hold Me, Touch Me" which did slightly better but still didn't put the band on the music map.

They sold out large stadium shows all over the country including Ontario Place. Shortly after their cross-Canada tour with Tanya Tucker (1977), and Bob Deeks replaced both Bill Gauvreau (guitar) & Darryl Alguire (vocals). Through internal business strife the band fell apart in 1979.

Several members moved to Toronto and went on to form Chain Reaction.

Recorded at Eastern Sound, Toronto
John Pulkkinen (aka Alexander): lead vocals
Rob McDonald: keyboards
Darryl Alguire: vocals
Warren Barbour: guitars, vocals
Ray Lessard: bass, vocals
Kirk Dorrow: drums
Bill Gauvreau: lead guitar
Bob Deeks: guitar, vocals; replaced Gauvreau & Alguire
Michael Hicks: keyboards, vocals; replaced McDonald
John Livingston: drums; replaced Dorrow


No Comments