Majestics   instrumental r b %28paragon%29 front


Majestics - Instrumental R&B

Format: LP
Label: Arc A732, Paragon PGS 569
Year: 1967
Origin: Toronto, Ontario, 🇨🇦
Genre: funk, soul, rhythm & blues
Value of Original Title: $60.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Canadian as Funk, Ontario, Beautiful Black Canadians, 1960's


Side 1

Track Name
Medley: Philly Dog, Night Train, Shot Gun
Love is Here
Land of 1000 Dances
Sweet Soul Music
Keep Me Hangin' On

Side 2

Track Name
Midnight Hour
Mercy, Mercy, Mercy
Crow Suey
34 ½ (Half-Way There)


Majestics   instrumental r b %28paragon%29 label 01

Majestics - Instrumental R&B (Paragon) LABEL 01

Majestics   instrumental r b %28paragon%29 label 02

Majestics - Instrumental R&B (Paragon) LABEL 02

Majestics   instrumental r b %28paragon%29 back

Majestics - Instrumental R&B (Paragon) BACK

Majestics   instrumental r b %28arc%29 front

Majestics - Instrumental R&B (Arc) FRONT

Majestics   instrumental r b %28arc%29 back

Majestics - Instrumental R&B (Arc) BACK

Majestics   instrumental r b %28paragon%29 front

Instrumental R&B


No Video


Toronto, Canada based Rhythm 'n' Blues/Soul Group that formed out of Jay Smith And The Majestics, Jack Hardin And The Silhouttes, David Clayton-Thomas' The Shays, Jon And Lee And The Checkmates, Bobby Kris & The Imperials & Robbie Lane And The Disciples.

This Rhythm 'n' Blues/Soul group started out in 1965 as Jay Smith And The Majestics but changed name to Shawne and Jay Jackson and The Majestics when Shawne's brother, and ex-Pharaohs member, Jay Jackson joined the group. Shawne Jackson had previously played in Jack Hardin And The Silhouttes; Fred Keeler was brought in from David Clayton-Thomas And The Shays; Drummer Wes Morris started out in Jon And Lee And The Checkmates; Crone had played with Bobby Kris; Cudmore had been a member of Robbie Lane And The Disciples.

They released several albums and singles on the ARC Records labels and their version of Arthur Conley's "Sweet Soul Music", on the compilation 'CTV's After Four' while "Respect" was found on the Yorkville 'Evolution' compilation.

The group split up in 1969.

Shawne Jackson would later play with The Stone Soul Children alongside future Bush member Prakash John before embarking on a successful solo career in the 1970's and would marry Domenic Troiano; Starr went on to play with Ronnie Hawkins And The Hawks and Robbie Lane & The Disciples, while his replacement, Dave Konvalenko, would subsequently play with Bobby Kris And The Imperials; Fred Keeler would later form Jericho; Vickery would later join Damage; Robertson would become a top session player for Murray McLauchlan, record several easy listening solo records and did frequent musical arrangement jobs for bands like Klaatu and the CBC; Eugene Smith had a successful solo career as well.

John Crone: saxophone
Orlando Guierri: trombone
Shawne Jackson: vocals
Brian Lucrow: trumpet
Wes Morris: drums
Eric Robertson: keyboards
Eugene 'Jay' Smith: vocals
Bobby Starr: guitar
Russ Strathdee: saxophone
Chris Vickery: bass
Jay Jackson: vocals
Dave Konvalenko: guitar
William Cudmore: saxophone
Fred Keeler: guitar

Mastered at Bell Sound Studios


No Comments