Crack of dawn 1976 front squared cropped for mocm


Crack of Dawn - ST

Format: LP
Label: Columbia ES 90336
Year: 1976
Origin: Kingston, Jamaica - Toronto, Ontario
Genre: funk, soul, disco
Value of Original Title: $20.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Canadian as Funk, Ontario, 1970's, Beautiful Black Canadians, The Ultimate Jamaica to Ontario Collection


Side 1

Track Name
Keep the Faith
Board Walking
Somebody's Watching You
The Key
Oh What a Feeling

Side 2

Track Name
It's Alright
I Can't Move No Mountains
Boobie Ruby
Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
Stand Tall


Crack of dawn 1976 front squared cropped for mocm



No Video


Crack Of Dawn were an R&B/funk outfit who were quite popular in the live dance clubs. The band was formed in Kingston, Jamaica by natives Grant Gabriel, Trevor Daley, Carl Harvey, Rupert Harvey, Mark Smith & Alvin Jones. Grant Gabriel’s sister, Jackie, originally sang for the group. They relocated from Jamaica to Toronto, Ontario in the mid-70's. In 1974 the band attracted interest from Columbia Records of Canada, Ltd.'s head of A&R Bob Gallo and were signed top the label in January 1975, the first Canadian black band to ever sign with a major label.

Another version of Crack of Dawn emerged in 1981 under the leadership of Dwight Gabriel who recorded a new album called 'Horizons' at Kensington Sound. They were only able to get the album released in Europe.

Jackie Gabriel: vocals
Grant Gabriel
Rupert Harvey: rhythm guitar
Trevor Daley: trombone
Mark Smith: bass
Alvin Jones: saxophone, flute
Dwight Gabriel: trumpet
Glenn Ricketts: vocals
Carl Harvey: guitar
Jacek Sobotta: keyboards
Carl Otway: drums
Andre King: bass; replaced Smith
George Flint: bass, guitar, vocals; 1981
James McGee: lead vocals; 1981
Doug Buchanan: keyboards; 1981


No Comments