In the falling dark %28f%29

Cockburn, Bruce - In the Falling Dark

Format: LP
Label: High Romance Music, True North TN 0026
Year: 1976
Origin: Ottawa, Ontario, 🇨🇦
Genre: folk
Value of Original Title: 
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Playlist: Ontario, Bruce Cockburn, 1970's, Music Legends, Folk


Track Name
Lord Of The Starfields
In The Falling Dark
Little Seahorse
Water Into Wine

Side 2

Track Name
Silver Wheels
Gavin's Woodpile
I'm Gonna Fly Some Day
Festival Of Friends


R 2500134 1352703241 7322.jpeg

Cockburn, Bruce - In the Falling Dark

R 2500134 1352703235 3169.jpeg

Cockburn, Bruce - In the Falling Dark

In the falling dark %28f%29

In the Falling Dark


No Video


Originally released in 1976, In The Falling Dark was the first of a trilogy of recordings, that bridged Bruce Cockburn’s acoustic work of the early 70s with his electic period a decade later. It’s landmark album, one that anounced Cockburn’s arrival as an important songwriter. But it’s also a generative recording planting the creative seeds that came to fruition fully on the subsequent studio albums “Further Adventures Of” and “Dancing In The Dragon’s Jaw”. With its compelling songs and majestic sweep “In The Falling Dark” is a perfect place to discover the impressive range of Bruce Cockburn’s artistry.

Album Info:

Apologies to Tommy Graham who played tambora on “Joy Will Find a Way” and got no credit for it-and to Mose and Heather Scarlett who sang on the same album.

Thanks to “Encounter 76”-the messages were deeply appreciated and the money put to good use.

recorded at Eastern Sound, Toronto, September-November 1976
produced by Eugene Martynec for True North Productions
engineer Ken Friesen
front cover photo Arnaud Maggs
back cover photo Ted Grant
art direction Bart Schoales

The musicians and vocalists were:
Bruce Cockburn: voice, guitars, dulcimer
Michael Donato: bass
Bob Disalle: drums
Bill Usher: percussion
Kathryn Moses: flutes, piccolo
Jørn Anderson: percussion
Dennis Pendrith: bass
Fred Stone: fluegelhorn, trumpet
Luke Gibson: background vocals
Lyn Macdonald: background vocals
Erin Malone (of Killaloe): background vocals

All songs written by B. Cockburn
© 1976 Golden Mountain Music Corp. (SOCAN) (BMI)
All Rights Reserved Used by Permission.
Digitally Remastered by Vic Anesini, Sony Studios,NY.

Remaster Info:
Digitally remastered at the E Room in Toronto by engineer Peter Moore, utilizing 24-bit technology.
New liner note essay written by Nicholas Jennings.
Released by Rounder Records, 19 November 2002.

* Deluxe Edition – Bonus tracks on the remastered CD version released by Rounder Records in 2002.


No Comments