Prism   beat street  digitally remastered  1


Prism - Beat Street

Format: LP
Label: Capitol 12266
Year: 1983
Origin: Vancouver, British Columbia, 🇨🇦
Genre: rock, pop
Value of Original Title: $10.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Rock Room, 1980's, British Columbia


Side 1

Track Name
Beat Street
Dirty Mind
Modern Times

Side 2

Track Name
Is He Better Than Me?
Blue Collar
State of the Heart
I Don't Want to Want You Anymore


Prism   beat street  digitally remastered  1

Beat Street


No Video


Upon 1981's Small Change album, Prism fell apart. After the band brought in singer Henry Small to replace Ron Tabak, there were constant disagreements as to which route the group should take: a harder rock & roll one or one that was geared more toward radio pop. This led to a wholesale change within the lineup, and only Small was left when Beat Street was recorded in 1983. Even with Timothy B. Schmit helping out on vocals, Beat Street contains none of Prism's past arena rock charm or instrumental stamina. The tracks are watered-down attempts at playing pop/rock with lyrics that sound as if they've been written overnight. Without John Hall behind the keyboards or Tabak's singing, Prism just wasn't Prism anymore. Lackluster efforts like "Nightmare," "Wired," or "Dirty Mind" are muddled and stale; "Is He Better Than Me" tried to imitate the band's only Top 40 Billboard appearance of "Don't Let Him Know," but contains none of the hooks or the passion; and "Blue Collar" is a wannabe Bachman-Turner Overdrive track. Beat Street was blatant evidence that Prism was on their last legs, and their breakup finally occurred after this album was released. Capitol released an Over 60 Minutes with Prism collection in 1988, but none of Beat Street's tracks made the cut.
-Mike DeGagne

Henry Small: vocals, keyboards
Paul Warren: guitar
Richie Zito: guitar, background vocals
Dennis Bellfield: bass guitar
Mike Baird: drums, percussion
Michael Tempo: percussion
Jimmy Phillips: keyboards
Bill Champlin: keyboards
Alan Pasqua: keyboards
Bobby Kimball: background vocals

Written and arranged by Davitt Sigerson, Henry Small (tracks: A1 to A4, B2 to B5), and Richie Zito
Engineered by Warren Dewey
Recorded and mixed at Sunset Sound and Capitol Studios
Mastered by Wally Traugott

Photography by Ron Slenzak
Art Direction by Bill Burks
Design by Andy Engel

Management: Bruce Allen Management


No Comments