Martha and the muffins   this is the ice age front


Martha And The Muffins - This Is The Ice Age

Format: LP
Label: Dindisc VL-2228
Year: 1981
Origin: Toronto, Ontario, 🇨🇦
Genre: new wave, electronic, rock, Synth-pop
Value of Original Title: $25.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Ontario, New Wave Post Punk Wave, 1980's


Side 1

Track Name
Women Around the World at Work
Casualties of Glass
Boy Without Filters
Jets Seem Slower in London's Skies

Side 2

Track Name
This is the Ice Age
One Day in Paris
You Sold the Cottage
Three Hundred Years - Chemistry


Martha and the muffins   this is the ice age back

Martha And The Muffins - This is the Ice Age BACK

Martha and the muffins   this is the ice age front

This Is The Ice Age


No Video


This Is the Ice Age was Martha and the Muffins' third album, released on LP and cassette in 1981. The track "Women Around the World at Work" was released as a single in the UK and Canada (#24). "Swimming", featuring a lead vocal by Mark Gane, was also issued as a single in Canada.

The album was a debut for Daniel Lanois as a rock music producer; he would later (often in partnership with Brian Eno) produce for artists as diverse as U2, Bob Dylan, and Dashboard Confessional. Daniel's sister Jocelyne was a member of the band, playing bass and singing backing vocals on this album.

The cover image was taken by Muffins' guitarist Mark Gane from an apartment he was living in on Bloor Street in Toronto. It depicts the Bank of Montreal's headquarters, First Canadian Place over a building in poor repair.

After being unavailable for over 20 years, this much sought-after album was finally re-released on CD in 2005 by EMI Canada and includes two bonus tracks that were not on the original release.

Martha Johnson: keyboards, vocals, percussion
Mark Gane: guitar, vocals, keyboards, effects, percussion
Jocelyne Lanois: bass, percussion, keyboards, backing vocals
Tim Gane: drums, percussion
Andy Haas: alto saxophone, trombone

Additional musicians:
Daniel Lanois: keyboards
Glenn Schellenberg: piano
George Axon: percussion
Alyx Skriabow: background vocals
Sandy Horne: background vocals
Corinne Plomish: background vocals
Gordon Deppe: background vocals

Produced by Martha And The Muffins and Daniel Lanois
Engineered by David Millar


No Comments