Martha And The Muffins - Danseparc

Format: LP
Label: Current Records WAVE-1
Year: 1983
Origin: Toronto, Ontario, 🇨🇦
Genre: new wave, electronic, Synth-pop
Value of Original Title: $8.00
Make Inquiry/purchase: email
Release Type: Albums
Websites:  No
Playlist: Ontario, New Wave Post Punk Wave, 1980's


Side 1

Track Name
World Without Borders
Walking Into Walls
Danseparc (Every Day It's Tomorrow)
Sins of Children

Side 2

Track Name
Several Styles of Blonde Girls Dancing
Boys in the Bushes
What People Do for Fun
Whatever Happened to Radio Valve Road?





No Video


Danseparc was Martha and the Muffins' fourth album, recorded in 1982 at Grant Avenue Studios in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, and released in 1983. The title single reached #31 in Canada.[2]

The album was reissued on CD through the band's own Muffin Music label in North America on June 25, 2008. Three additional bonus tracks include the original extended dance version of “Danseparc”, “These Dangerous Machines” and a live version of “Sins Of Children” from M&M’s performance at Ontario Place in 1983 featuring avant-guitarist Michael Brook. On August 4, 2008, Cherry Records rereleased the album in the UK. Bass player Jocelyne Lanois is the sister of producer Daniel Lanois.

Martha Johnson: guitar, keyboards, vocals, percussion
Mark Gane: guitar, keyboards, vocals, percussion
Jocelyne Lanois: bass, backing vocals, percussion
Nick Kent: drums, percussion

Additional musicians:
Daniel Lanois: percussion, backing vocals
Nick Gane: guitar, synthesizer, piano
Glenn Schellenberg: synthesizer
Dick Smith: percussion (tracks A3, B1, B2)
Ron Allen: soprano saxophone (tracks A2, A3); tenor saxophone (tracks A3, A4)
John Oswald: saxophone (track B2)
Debbie Griffiths: background vocals (track B1)
Bentones/Bentonettes: background vocals (track B2)

Produced by Daniel Lanois, Mark Gane, and Martha Johnson
Engineered by Daniel Lanois
Recorded at Grant Avenue Studio, Hamilton, Ontario

Artwork by Mark Gane
Layout and photography (back cover) by Peter Noble


No Comments